Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

How Not To Void The Warranty

Search this Thread

Old Sep 15, 2003, 06:13 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How Not To Void The Warranty

I am new to the board. I put my 96 GST to rest for something newer! So I picked up an 03 Evo and was wondering would an Intake and 3" turbo back exhaust void the warranty? I am guessing running a test pipe would but what about a high flow cat? I'm new to this new car warranty stuff. LOL Never had a new car..... What kind of HP am I looking at before I start to void the warranty?

Thanks
Old Sep 15, 2003, 06:20 PM
Evolved Member

For the engine don't touch the ECU or boost, for the suspension don't put in aftermarket springs. So basically you're limited to flow mods like intake, exhaust, downpipe.
Old Sep 15, 2003, 06:20 PM
Evolved Member

Any mod will void your warranty
Old Sep 15, 2003, 06:31 PM
Evolved Member

Even Intake and Exhaust?
Old Sep 15, 2003, 06:32 PM
Evolving Member

it all depends on the service departent that you use...I would ask them first before you do the mods....Go to the different dealers and ask them the same questions........some are cool, and some are very uncool...............and dont expect them to warranty any wear items on the car; Example: Brake pads, wiper baldes, CLUTCH, etc......No Dealer will warranty these things, and every one always cries about the clutch...if you use it to change gears you will be fine, if you use it for crazy 5,000rpm launches you will tear it up. There you go!!!!!
Old Sep 15, 2003, 06:33 PM
Evolved Member

Definitely not. There are laws against that so if a dealer trys to say it don't believe it. The modification has to be proven as the cause of the problem.
Old Sep 15, 2003, 07:19 PM
Evolved Member