Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

My Evo was great--till I lost my clutch at 5K

Search this Thread

Old Oct 8, 2003, 11:50 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy My Evo story

Greetings all--

I'm an ex-Viper driver--put 16,000 hard driven miles on my '99 ACR before selling it. It never gave me a hint of problems with its rock-solid drivetrain, even though I took it to the strip on one memorable occasion and launched it like I was at the strip on all others.

I picked up an EVO because the ACR never really seemed settled in the corners...it always felt like it was one toe-twinge from breaking lose. For my next car, I wanted something that had unbeatable handling.

I followed the news about the EVO closely, and became convinced that it was a spectacular handling beast.

In this, I was not disappointed

I felt faster the first day! AND I had 5 seats!

Sure, I was way down on power and torque, but I knew to expect that. What I didn't expect was how quickly I could really get to 60.

Mitsu says the car does 0-60 in 5.1. So that's what I did...over and over and over.. Never went to the track, but loved driving down a twisty road on the way home (Calavaras near Fremont)

Unfortunatily, what Mitsu leaves out is that if you DO choose to do 0-60 in 5.1, your clutch WILL fail. And quick.

So, there I was, 5300 miles later, and the car down for a clutch which Mitsu denied warranty on.

So, I'm left with going to the National Center for Dispute Settlement.

Does anyone here have advice for winning in a dispute like this?

My clutch (which I still have) does not look bad--and my service writer said it did NOT look like abuse to him. It simply looks worn down.

It also looks VERY small. I never imagined such a small part would be expected to handle 273 ft/lbs of torque for an AWD car.