Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Going to College so Evo has to go - Need Advice :(

Search this Thread

Old Dec 20, 2009, 08:14 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Going to College so Evo has to go - Need Advice :(

Alright here's the deal. I bought my Evo IX three years ago, which was about a year after I graduated from high school. I've been working full time for Sprint since the day of graduation, so I have had no issues affording the car. However, I decided it was time to go back to school last fall, so I enrolled at the local community college. I'm almost finished with my associates degree, and plan on transferring to a college in Florida to earn my Bachelors degree in mechanical engineering. With that being said, I will no longer be working full time as I feel that my education is much more important than wasting my life away in a dead-end retail job, especially with a poorly managed company such as Sprint.

My issue is this. I'm trying to figure out what kind of car to "downgrade" to. More than likely, I will be driving 1k miles at the beginning and end of each semester from Maryland to Florida, so I need a fairly reliable car. I still want something that will be fun to drive though. I know I'm going to get some flammage for this, but I have been looking at the 2003-2005 Jetta GLI. It's a four door, looks decent, and still has a turbo, even if it is a baby one. If there are any VW guys out there that now own an Evo I'm looking for some advice. Would this be a decent car, or are they a headache when it comes to reliability?

It's going to be really hard to sell my Evo
Old Dec 20, 2009, 09:01 PM
Evolved Member

yeah dude.. i have been thinking the same thing!!! Still debating...
Old Dec 20, 2009, 09:14 PM
Evolving Member