Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Evo IX Water pump help

Search this Thread

Old Jul 16, 2011, 10:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Evo IX Water pump help

So, i come to find out i need a water pump.. i so far understand that theyre two different water pumps from the 8 and the 9 so, i know to look for the 9 lol.. but, anyway im as far down as the pulley off and a few bolts actually out of the water pump.. my next question on the EVO 9 in specific do i need to take off the timing components??? i REALLLLY dont want to since im not really cumfortable in re-timing the motor... but, yeah i would appreciate ya'lls help since im a fairly decent mechanic, no so good speller but, i just like to know before i LEAP ya know ?
Old Jul 16, 2011, 10:40 PM

how many miles you got on your car? if i was to go in behind the timing cover i would change all the components just so you know your good for another 60-70K without having to go in again because one of the bearing is making noise. there is just more wear and tear on these bearings because the car is turbo'd compared to an N/A.
Old Jul 17, 2011, 04:34 AM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Yes, there is a little bit of a difference from the 8 and 9 waterpumps, so get the one that goes to your car. It would be a good idea to change the timing components since the water pump is behind the timing belt. There is a very well written How-To about it on here. I studied it very thoroughly and did mine with ease. If you have a friend whose already done this, then get with them about it. It's not as scary as people make it out to be.
Old Jul 17, 2011, 04:46 AM

Originally Posted by bluedevil06