Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

400HP from Stock Internals, Turbo, etc.. Possible? Safe?

Search this Thread

Old Jan 28, 2012, 05:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
400HP from Stock Internals, Turbo, etc.. Possible? Safe?

Alright I am new to the Evo game but not to the tuning world. I am in the process of purchasing an Evo and I am seriously looking at this 2006 Evolution IX. What bothers me about it is that he is claiming it is running 414HP on stock internals and sometimes peaking at 31lbs of boost. Is this ok? The history of the car is he purchased it from a shop in Denver that built it and it appears to be done properly. Please read the description below. I know he is leaving out a bunch of mods but he is just not familiar with it. He has owned the car for 2 years and put 2,000 miles on it. It was tuned for 350 from the original seller but he then had someone tune it for 414HP. Should I be worried about purchasing this vehicle? It has been taken care of and looks very clean. It runs well also. Let me know your thoughts!

Description:

I'm forced to sell my baby. Has 41k miles on it as of today. Tinted windows, powder coated wheels, and lowered. Mods include E85 tune, ported exhaust manifold, 3" exhaust with test pipe (for track use only, comes with 3" cat), upgraded intercooler, custom welded hard intake pipes, ACT clutch. Stock engine, turbo, trans, t-case, & diffs. Put down 414 hp and 460 ft/lbs. It runs 11.9's at Bandimere (one of the fastest stock engine/turbo evo's in the country). Very clean inside and out. Since it is AWD, this is one of the few cars that is very fast and can be driven in the snow. Hate to sell it, but I just can't afford it.
Old Jan 28, 2012, 06:04 PM
Evolving Member