Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Typical Evo issues.

Search this Thread

Old Aug 2, 2012, 06:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Typical Evo issues.

Now I know this isn't the introduction section, but I do have a question. I'm new to Evo's for the most part. I just bought my first one about 3 weeks ago and I've fell in love. I've been an S-chassis person my whole, owning multiple S13's and a couple S14's, and somehow I managed to have an SRT-4 in there somehow (I know, don't judge me). My last car was a 97 Kouki S14. I had a BPU SR20 I built, full suspension, SSR Professors, yada yada yada. Anyways, I sold that a year ago and have been driving a little Colorado until about 3 weeks ago, when I found the cleanest, most untouched, unmolested 05 Evo VIII GSR SSL (black) I'd ever personally laid eyes on, so I bought it. It even has a 100+ page service record book from the previous owner. My question is: What are typical problems common with Evo's? I know about the MR's having 3rd gear issues. But what about GSR's? I've done some searching but I can't seem to find a list or a thread anywhere with usual things that occur. I could sit here and tell you everything you'll ever expect with a 240, but with an Evo, I'm lost in the sauce. If anyone know's of a thread, or can name them off head here it would be great. I have experienced NO problems with my car thus far other than sqeaky rotors, so I would like to know what to look forward to. Thanks!

-Cliff (sorry for the book lol)
Old Aug 2, 2012, 07:19 PM
Evolving Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts