Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

What is making this noise in my Evo IX ? (Video Inside)

Search this Thread

Old Apr 20, 2013, 04:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What is making this noise in my Evo IX ? (Video Inside)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_QoTc...ature=youtu.be

I think its a pulley. But im not a mechanic so I wouldn't know. Can anyone give me some opinions on what it is? If I rev the engine I don't hear it getting louder or anything like that. And it sounds like its coming from the side of the engine near the pulleys and belts.
Old Apr 20, 2013, 04:34 PM
EvoM Guru

Received 204 Likes on 148 Posts
Kinda sounds like something hitting your timing cover. Maybe the pully or the belt. I have heard it before on my car and that's what it was one mine. Hard to tell for sure though.
Old Apr 20, 2013, 04:45 PM
Evolved Member

Received 99 Likes on 79 Posts
https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/ev...elt-video.html
Old Apr 20, 2013, 05:17 PM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Yup the notorious timing belt and tensioner^^^^
Old Apr 20, 2013, 11:18 PM

Well let me add this:

When it just starts up, there is no noise at all. When it starts to get warmer that's when the noise appears. Im in the Wisconsin area so its cold outside always around here.
Old Apr 21, 2013, 12:56 AM
Evolving Member

Spray some wd40 on the outside pulleys and seen if it quiets down.
Old Apr 21, 2013, 10:18 AM

I just sprayed WD40 on the pulley that is on the alternator. The noise goes away completely for maybe 10 minutes. Now it only makes a slight quieter version of the noise. So IDK about the whole timing belt suggestion.
Old Apr 21, 2013, 10:29 AM