Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

when to tune?

Search this Thread

Old Aug 30, 2013, 10:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
when to tune?

I have a 03 evo 8
i recently added hard piping for upper and lower intercooler a full greddy exhaust, ets intercooler and greddy BOV. I wana get it tuned so i can get some decent gains and still be a daily driver. Is there any other small things im missing before a base tune?
yes im a noob the more help the better
Old Aug 30, 2013, 10:33 AM
Evolved Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
u need walbro fuel pump 255lph and boost controller.not sure about your bov,i would stick with metal deverter valve.
Old Aug 30, 2013, 10:48 AM
Former Sponsor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
snoevo

Are you in Salinas, CA? I'm from Monterey.

Back OT: I'd get a boost controller, 3 port, MBC or both. With that said I've tuned quite a few with basic mods like yours and the inj duty cycles are getting quite high on the stock inj. I'd get some bigger inj. Being in CA you may want to jump to the FIC 1100 along with the Walbro FP as you can switch to E85 with a tune without having to upgrade your fuel system (as long as you stay with the small turbo).
Old Aug 30, 2013, 12:39 PM
EvoM Guru

Received 77 Likes on 58 Posts
Definitely fuel pump, although I would go with a Deatschworks pump instead of Walbro as they're not as loud. Boost control if you want it. If you aren't going to bump the boost too high you'll be fine with your stock injectors and an upgraded fuel pump.
Old Aug 30, 2013, 07:53 PM

Originally Posted by PureDrivePerformance
snoevo

Are you in Salinas, CA? I'm from Monterey.