Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Potential Evo Owner Questions

Search this Thread

Old Oct 6, 2013, 09:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Potential Evo Owner Questions

Hey everyone, I hope I'm posting this in the spot, but anyway I'm looking to buy a evo 9 or 8. I'm going to look at one today and its a evo 9 se with 99k miles for $16.5 Is this reasonable?

I included the CL post he also told me he installed an OEM style three port boost solenoid and walbro fuel pump.

http://boston.craigslist.org/gbs/cto/4054165995.html

I come from the muscle car na world so I'm still new to turbos. What questions should I ask or just stay clear?

Thanks
David
Old Oct 6, 2013, 09:55 AM
Evolving Member

The price seems kind of low to me, did you look up the kbb value? Try to defintely get a car fax on it. These cars usually go for alot more than what he is asking.

Ask him if he has documentation on all the maintenance. What kind of fluids he's been using in the drivetrain, evo transmissions are pretty finnicky as well as the transfer case. Who tuned the car, ask if he has any documentation on that as well. What brand clutch he used for replacement.
Old Oct 6, 2013, 10:01 AM
EvoM Community Team

Received 28 Likes on 18 Posts
Watch out for 419 scams on cars for sale on Craigslist that appear to be just too good of a deal. That's how they hook you.
Old Oct 6, 2013, 10:16 AM

The Carfax is fine. Everything matches up. says recall for ecu reflash but thatd screw up the tune right?

And kbb for the car in excellent condition is 17,250 and 16,700 for very good.
Old Oct 6, 2013, 05:16 PM
Evolving Member