Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Possible purchase: 06 Evolution ix mr with 2.3L Stroker motor. What to look for?

Search this Thread

Old Feb 20, 2014, 09:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Possible purchase: 06 Evolution ix mr with 2.3L Stroker motor. What to look for?

Hi guys,
I am a noob when comes to Evo. I came across this low mileage 06 evo ix mr w/2.3 liter AMS stroker. Approx 65k miles on the chassis, and 30k on AMS 2.3 liter short block with stock heads. Stock exhaust and cat. The owner told me that it was last dyno @ 300+ whp. What should I be inspecting and to look for when I inspect the car? I would be highly appreciated if any fellow members could point me to the right direction. Thanks very much, and I hope to be more actively involved once i acquire the mr.

Last edited by ms32evoixmr; Feb 20, 2014 at 09:53 PM.
Old Feb 20, 2014, 10:07 PM
Evolved Member

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
How much? Why so little power on a 2.3? Why does it have stock exhaust? Find out how those 30k miles have been spent. With the way some guys drive, it could be time for another rebuild
Old Feb 20, 2014, 10:24 PM

Originally Posted by evotuner04
How much? Why so little power on a 2.3? Why does it have stock exhaust? Find out how those 30k miles have been spent. With the way some guys drive, it could be time for another rebuild
The owner returned exhaust to stock for smog purpose. 300whp is low? Wow, I thought that's pretty damn good for a stroker motor. Lol, that tells you how little I know about the evo's. What things should I check for during visual inspection? During test drive?
Old Feb 20, 2014, 10:35 PM
Evolved Member

I bet the average Evo hp level is over 325whp on stock block. My 2.3 will see a modest 500 once its tuned lol.