Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Advice on buyin a 03 evo 8..

Search this Thread

Old Dec 2, 2014, 09:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Advice on buyin a 03 evo 8..

Im looking into buying my first evo, looking at one in my price range but things that seem kinda strange are that it has a older evo ix motor in the car an the car is a 03 evo 8.. would that affect the value of the car itself.. what would be a reasonable price range? shell has 180k plus miles aswell.. im new to the evo scene and need some advice thanks.
Old Dec 2, 2014, 09:19 PM

and if someone that has past experience in evo's could point me in the right direction on what to look for when buying evo.
Old Dec 2, 2014, 09:33 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Well whats the story about WHY there is a IX motor in the 8? HOw's the body? Was the transmission/tcase also from a IX? If so how many miles? If not has it been rebuilt at anytime? What mods are on the car?

At a minimum have a leakdown and/or compression test done at a shop you trust locally.

Whats the asking price?

Also (especially for a car that old) You need ot set aside money to rebuild the transmission and transfercase and at a minimum get a decent stock clutch. So I would set aside at least 3-4k if you arent doing the work yourself for anything that may come up after you get the car.

Thats alot of miles so maintenance history would be good to know. Has the owner been on evom or another local Evo/performance car site. You can tell alot about someone by how they post or reply to posts.