Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

difference between turboback and catback

Search this Thread

Old Mar 17, 2004, 09:18 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
difference between turboback and catback

what is the difference between the two or is there any difference? this is my first turbo car. Looking to replace the exhaust but I am confused between the terms. What dies the downpipe do? Do I need it. Will Have I have to replace the complete stock exhaust ?? Please explain what I have to do. Is there any website that will explain this to me? I basically want added horsepower without any reliablity issues because this will be my daily driver. It has to be quiet or not much louder than stock. I am a newbie and need all your "expertise" in this matter. Thanks
Old Mar 17, 2004, 09:34 AM
Evolving Member

The only difference between them is this:

A Turbo-back is everything from the o2 housing back. It includes the downpipe, catalytic converter (or test-pipe/cat-delete), and the rest of the exhaust to the 'tip'

Cat-back is just the piping that extends past the catalytic converter.

Hope this helped...
Old Mar 17, 2004, 09:37 AM
Evolved Member

ok i will do my best to explain it to you even though it is kinda hard with out pics.