Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

New to the Evo Scene

Search this Thread

Old Jun 21, 2015, 12:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cool New to the Evo Scene

Hello Everyone!

My name is Abdula and I am new to this forum. Just picked up my first Evo this past week. I have been a motorsport enthusiast for about as long as I can remember. If it goes fast I generally like it. I live in the Wichita, Kansas area and have basically grown up here since I was 7 and am currently 24 years old. I have my degree in International Business with minors in Management and Chemistry from Wichita State University and I also have my MBA from Friends University.

I currently own a 1986 Toyota Pickup and a 2007 Triumph Daytona. I had a 2014 Mustang GT but ended up having it totaled when a Lexus SUV slammed on her brakes at a green light. Did a lot of research on what I wanted my next car to be and decided on an Evo. At first I wanted an Evo X but did not want to go the aluminum block route again and felt that the VIII's and IX's had more potential in them for me personally.

Eventually I decided that I wanted to get an IX and began my search. I looked at the for sale forums everyday multiple times to find the right car. I would also get on craigslist and hop around from city to city to see what I could find.

While at work Monday morning June 15th I was on the Atlanta Craigslist browsing the sparse selection of Evo's when at the bottom of the page in the surrounding areas section I found what could possibly be a gem.

A 2006 Silver Evo MR with only 22,000 miles on the clock. The block was built by english racing. The head work was done by some guys who work at APR in Auburn, Alabama. A few emails, text messages, and phone call later I had a Cashiers check in hand and a ticket to fly into Atlanta the next morning.