Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Evo IX A/C Problems

Search this Thread

Old Jul 16, 2016, 05:00 PM
Evolving Member

Received 20 Likes on 18 Posts
Evo IX A/C Problems

First of all, I must apologize as I know there are quite a few threads regarding this. I'm new to the Evo scene, and just got mine about 2 weeks ago with around 113k miles.

The car drives flawlessly, except the A/C does not work. Which when it's hot outside, or raining, this poses a problem. (The fiance refuses to drive in it as it gets quite warm)

Anyway, so all the electrical as fine as I tested everything. The compressor, and pressure switch are both receiving power. Tried By-passing the Pressure Switch just to rule it out, and no engagement.

So after digging and searching, I found that we do have an issue with our clutches on the compressor getting out of spec. So I attempted tapping it, a bit harder then most videos as mine wouldn't turn on like below:

Tapping it enough times, and it will eventually start moving! But... very slowly. Nothing like the video posted above.

Any ideas?

Last edited by Chrispy0530; Jul 16, 2016 at 07:23 PM.
Old Jul 16, 2016, 05:09 PM
Evolving Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Use a feeler gauge to check the gap in the clutch. Does it draw in at all? Also check pressure in the system. If it is over or under charged it will not let the compressor kick on.
Old Jul 16, 2016, 07:22 PM
Evolving Member

Don't have a feeler gauge, but I suspect there may be a gap. If I keep tapping on it hard enough, it eventually starts spinning, just very slowly. This is what puzzles me. You accelerate, and it completely stops.