Notices
Evo How Tos / Installations Post or link to your detailed how to / installation articles in here. If you have any questions regarding the how tos, feel free to post them in the Request sub-forum.

JDM 9 headlight install

Search this Thread

Old Jan 14, 2010, 12:24 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
JDM 9 headlight install

Ok, so I already feel like a total noob for asking this question..idk why but this seems like a puzzle i cant solve lol.

alright so i have an 05 evo 8 non-hid, however i do have an HID kit.

The problem is my low beam assembly is different than the jdm headlights..meaning the place where you put the low beam bulb, is different than my stock set up.
on my stock set up, you put the low beam bulb in and twist it in order to secure it (just like the fog light hole on the jdm headlights).
However, on the jdm setup, it looks like this:

PLEASE NOTE, MY STOCK HEADLIGHT DOES NOT LOOK LIKE THIS:

Last edited by Tnastyevo8; Jan 14, 2010 at 12:29 PM.
Old Jan 14, 2010, 12:36 PM
Evolving Member

the jdm headlights only came with the headlight, nothing else to cover the whole where the low beams go
Old Jan 15, 2010, 01:43 PM
Evolving Member

bump
Old Jan 16, 2010, 09:12 PM
Evolving Member

bump
Old Jan 16, 2010, 11:26 PM
Evolving Member

bump
Old Jan 18, 2010, 10:46 PM
Evolving Member

ttt
Old Jan 18, 2010, 11:09 PM
Evolved Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
JDM housing comes with HID standard, so it uses a D2S bulb, whereas your headlight uses a 9006 halogen (if you got an HID kit, it still is a 9006 base on a D2S bulb) so it short, it won't fit. You need a pair of D2S bulbs, OEM plugs, and maybe OEM ballasts.
As for the cover on the back, it's weird, I think my JDM headlights came with one, but I'm not 100% sure.