Notices
Evo Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

New Guy , Suspension Help Please :)

Search this Thread

Old Oct 4, 2006, 09:30 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New Guy , Suspension Help Please :)

hey guys im new to not only this fourm, but to the entire world of japanese AWD turbo cars, and might i add that im loving every second of it. its a great change comming from a mustang GT. even though i had my car highly modded from suspension to engine, this 06 evo MR impresses the hell out of me. im officially amazed. anyways let me appologize in advanced because ill probably ask a couple questions that have been answered already and i know a few of the guys on my mustang forum were kind of annoyed when that happened, so sorry in advanded lol.

ANYWAYS,

heres the deal , just got the Red 06 MR and im looking to do a couple mods.

from what i understand, if youre going to do the suspension at all, you should swap to a coilover kit or something like that if youre looking to drop the car and improve handling because springs are no good. Is it true that springs are worthless and will generally make your car handle worse than the stock set up? i ask this because i dont go to the track too often, i generally keep my car on the street and in the canyons and i dont like the height very much and i cant really affod a coil over kit. i want to lower the car with springs but NOT if its going to compromise my handling AT ALL on the street or in the canyons. If thats the case ill just save up for some coil overs or something. any good suggestions on springs that really actually improve handling and lower the car im very interested in, otherwise i guess ill leave it stock till i can afford coilovers.

while im here ill get all my suspension questions out of the way, this is going to be a long one guys , bare with the newb haha.