Notices
Evo Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

Newbie. Wider Wheels In Front?

Search this Thread

Old Oct 9, 2007, 06:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie. Wider Wheels In Front?

Hey There. I am new to evo's and AWD in general , (i'm hoping to purchase an EVO within the next few months), and was just wondering since i'd seen a few members running wider wheels in the front that the rear...I was just wondering, what are the advantages and/or disadvantages of doing so.
-Thanks
Old Oct 9, 2007, 06:22 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Pro:
You will have a wider track -- and therefore will better be able to control the vehicle's inherent understeer.

Con:
You won't be able to rotate tires
Old Oct 9, 2007, 06:24 PM
Evolving Member

will it mess up the differential ?
Old Oct 9, 2007, 06:30 PM
Evolved Member

As long as the tires are the same size, not *really* I say not really due to the inevitability that it will do some sort of damage over the long haul we call daily driving.

If you do different OFFSETS to allow a wider track, thats not as effective, however it does help reduce understeer. Usually a good rear sway bar and a nice set of coilovers will accomplish much more effective results than messing with the wheels.

I am working on a setup, currently, that will not be a DD, only part time street duty, not much if anything....

I am hoping to run 18x10.5 in the front and 18x9.5 in the rear with a 15 so offset in the front and something flush in the rear, accomplishing the "cyberevo" look to it, with the effective reduction in understeer.

PM me for questions, but seriously...ask some of the Mueller guys for help with suspension and handling, none better.
Old Oct 9, 2007, 06:56 PM
Evolved Member

Same size tire and it wont mess up the diff, it might have a slight difference in rotational distance, but miniscule.