Notices
Evo Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

GIRODISC ULTRALITE Brake Rotor Review

Search this Thread

Old Jun 13, 2009, 11:44 AM
Evolved Member

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
GIRODISC ULTRALITE Brake Rotor Review

Hello all. I have been running a set of Girodisc rotors on my EVOs for about 3 years now. They have worked flawlessly! I have 3 full years of autocross racing on them, as well as 1 track day, countless drag strip passes, and about 25,000 miles of street driving.

Since my car has pretty much become a dedicated autocross car for now, and I love to shave weight anywhere possible, I began to look for an even lighter braking option than the fantastic Girodisc rotors. I contacted Martin Meade of Girodisc two years ago to discuss creating an Ultralite set of brake rotors for my EVO. (apparently several others out there were looking for the same thing ) I wanted to stick with the stock rotor diameter and stock calipers to preserve the superb balance I've grown accustomed to. After talking off and on for a couple years, and looking at different options - the wait is finally over! I received my new GIRODISC ULTRALITE Rotors this week!

I will start off with the all important weight numbers - that's what we're looking for, after all!

Stock rotors ________ F - 21.3# ___ R - 14.6#
Normal Girodisc _____ F - 17.4# ____R - 11.1#
Ultralite Girodisc _____F - 12.9# ____R - 8.9#

That is a total weight savings of 13.4# compared to the normal Girodisc rotors, and a huge 28.2# savings vs the OEM Brembo rotors!!! Keep in mind - these are STOCK DIAMETER brake rotors - as well as being the stock width! How can you accomplish this kind of weight without miniaturizing or swiss cheesing your brakes?? Take a look:

Here are the front rotors - standard Girodisc vs. Ultralite Girodisc

Name:  IMG_0456Large.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  60.3 KB