Notices
Evo Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

It's almost that time of the year again...

Search this Thread

Old Sep 19, 2009, 08:23 PM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
It's almost that time of the year again...

What tires are you going to go with for the winter time?

Specify size and post a review if you've ran them before. I'm fairly new to evo's and I'm gearing up on ordering my first set of winter shoes. I'm interested in opinions of people who actually have to deal with decent amounts of snow and what setup works best.

I'm thinking about downsizing to a 215/50/17. I'm liking the look of the tread pattern on these and the price is right. They have some nice wide grooves on the shoulder.

http://www.discounttiredirect.com/di...0&rd=17&cs=215

Old Sep 19, 2009, 09:31 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No can do...I don't think you can fit into the 17"s...doesn't fit over the Brembo brakes. I was thinking the same thing, as I've always downsized tire size in all my other cars but after lots of research the final conclusion from everyone was that I could not fit 17's (I drive a 2008 EVO MR)...I also have 17's from my Sebring and no way would they fit my EVO brakes when I put them side by side....there is only about 1/2 of an inch from Brembo brakes to the 18 inch rim as it is.