Notices
Evo Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

First Autocross in the Evo. Gotta say, It sucks...

Search this Thread

Old Jun 19, 2010, 08:58 AM
EvoM Guru

Received 777 Likes on 592 Posts
First Autocross in the Evo. Needs work, but its a start.

Background,
Im a mechanical engineer (MSME), did FSAE suspension for a year, and spend most my free time reading about suspension design and setup and one day I hope to go somewhere as a suspension engineer. My normal autocross car is a 95 Eagle Talon that Ive been running for 6 years. Its nearly completely built, 2.4l, aftermarket diffs, 275 V710s...etc. Unfortunately I had motor apart waiting on parts so it wasn't ready for a points event so I decided to take the evo and see what she'd do.

The results,
Understeer, Understeer, Understeer! The Evo was 5-6 seconds off my pace in the Talon (it was a ~55sec course), and please dont tell me to fix the driver hoopla, I may not be a national driver but I am a front runner locally and know my way around an autocross course .

Whats on the Car? Just a downpipe, test pipe, flash, hotchkis spring/sway kit, and some BFG dry/wet tires. My best estimation is about -1* camber front and maybe -0.5* rear.

Ok, so whats wrong with the car. Basically, the hotchkis kit sucks. Lack of front spring rate meant the turn in was way to slow. You had to baby the wheel into turns to get the suspension to settle and grip, otherwise it would just understeer, not transfer any load, and the maximum grip would fall off immensely. Also I think the front was hitting the bump stops on some of the rougher section. Although it did a great job of putting power (well, lack there of ) down through soft turns.

I will wholeheartedly say the hotchkis kit is pretty terrible for anything other than looking low and having a soft rolley polley front end .

The fix,