Notices
Evo Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

Advice on damaged rims & tires

Search this Thread

Old Nov 16, 2003, 07:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Advice on damaged rims & tires

I knew it would happen which is why I tried really, really hard to get a set of winter rims & tires. The fates were against me and I was forced to use the stock rims as winter beaters. You see, the previous three times that I've had nice rims and have had the stock tires changed, there has always been damage to the rims.

So this past weekend, I took my Evo to a locally owned repair shop to get the Blizzacks I bought mounted on my stock rims. I figured that there would be some scratches due to the fact that other shops have always scratched my rims and since the stock rims were now going to be winter beaters, I'd just try and live with it. Now I've been doing business with this shop for the past 10+ years and they are great for run of the mill stuff (suspension, exhaust, brakes, etc ). I thought (my mistake) that they would notice that the rims are a step above the typical steel 14 inch rims and that they would be careful. Wrong! Every one of my rims has scratches all the way around the lip. It looks like the wheel weight was pushed around the edge of the wheel. The lip on each wheel has several long scratches where the silver coat was scraped off to reveal the white primer underneath. On the face of the wheel there are long black scratches and more white spots. On a couple of the wheels I can see bare metal where the wheel weight were located, almost as if the weights were ripped off. Here's a pic of a rim where the weight was located: http://home.rochester.rr.com/bigbrat/Rim1.jpg
Here's another hi-res pic of the entire rim. Notice the white streaks on the lip and the black streaks on the face next to the lip: http://www.freepichosting.com/Images...1/0.jpg?x=2288