Notices
Evo Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

A little review, Carbotech/Dba/Binary

Search this Thread

Old Sep 2, 2010, 06:17 PM
Evolved Member

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
A little review, Carbotech/Dba/Binary

I started track driving this year in my Evo. So I am a relative track noob. But I have already learned a lot about driving and preparing a car for track usage. Perhaps nowhere have I been as surprised and been forced to learn as quickly as brakes. If you drive an Evo aggressively on the track, the car is hard on brakes. A solid bolt on Evo with a good tune can generate a lot of speed in straightaways. That just means more energy the brakes have to absorb as you approach a corner. This means HEAT, and a lot of it.

After trying some ‘street/track’ pads I realized this approach was not going to work for me. As I became a better driver and started compressing braking zones, the nature of these pads reared its head. I tried Racing Brake ET700’s and Ferodo DS2500’s. I found it easy to generate fade with these pads. Both were fine until I started to push and really lean on the brakes, late and hard carrying all the speed I could into a corner. Of the two the ET700’s were a little better and I would call them a decent ‘light’ track day pad. Some people may never need more, some may find their limits pretty quickly. The DS2500’s were even easier to heat up and make spongy with fade. These are just not track pads.

So I bit the bullet and decided it was time to buy a track setup. After doing a good bit of reading and research I ended up with the following:
Pads: Carbotech XP12’s (Front) and XP10’s (Rear)
Rotors: Dba 4000 Slotted Front and Rear
Front Cooling Ducts from Binary Eng. With Mishimoto 2” Silicone Ducting
I already have Racing Brake SS Lines and run ATE Superblue Fluid, flushed and bled after each event.