Notices
Evo Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

Looking into coilovers. Suggestions?

Search this Thread

Old May 17, 2012, 06:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking into coilovers. Suggestions?

I'm looking into putting a set of coilovers on my 06 Evo IX. I will be doing the install myself, so labor price is not a concern. I'm looking for something that is comfortable enough for daily driving, with decent track performance if adjustments are made. I'm more concerned about quality than price. The following are the sets I'm considering, adding camber plates up front if not included in the set.

Bilstein PSS9s - I'm a huge fan of Bilsteins. Love the factory set up.
Cusco Zero 2E - Like the idea of the Cusco Econ.
H&R Street Performance Coilover - I'm a Porsche tech, and we have good luck with these on our cars. Not sure how they would do on an Evo, but I know H&R is a reputable brand.
KW Variant 3 - People seem to like these in the Evo community.

Any suggestions or experiences would be great. Just looking for peoples' thoughts and opinions on coilover kits. If you've had any good or bad experiences with anything I didn't list, please feel free to post about it.
Old May 17, 2012, 08:02 PM
Evolved Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
The guys that daily drive their car and want comfort usually get the Ohlin DFVs. Price is pretty high though, at $3500 for the set.
Old May 17, 2012, 08:12 PM
Evolved Member

ohlins are great if you have the money. anything robi set up will be good as well, some with race comp. kw3's for example need adjusting as they generally run higher rates in the front vs rear which is not ideal for evos.

H&R suited me well when i had my audi, but no experience with evos. definitely a quality brand with good customer support.

TONS of threads on the subject, give it a search and see what you can come up with. gl with you decision
Old May 17, 2012, 08:19 PM