Notices
Evo X Electrical / Audio / Security Discuss electrical and audio system upgrades or alarm configurations.

? About a Rear Camera install

Search this Thread

Old Jun 17, 2012, 09:05 PM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
? About a Rear Camera install

I have been pondering the idea about getting a rear camera for my 2008 Evo MR. I am looking into buying a touch screen head unit & with that I'd like to hook up a rear cam to work with the HU. I've looked on Crutchfield to make sure the different HU's have a rear-cam input.

Any suggestion on where to purchase, how much, & where to get it installed? If you could give me a break down as far as if it's worth it all that. I appreciate it. Thanks!
Old Jun 18, 2012, 10:52 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How much are you looking to spend on the HU? Are you absolutely set on having someone else install everything?
Old Jun 18, 2012, 11:42 AM
Evolving Member

Received 9 Likes on 3 Posts
Originally Posted by CU125
I have been pondering the idea about getting a rear camera for my 2008 Evo MR. I am looking into buying a touch screen head unit & with that I'd like to hook up a rear cam to work with the HU. I've looked on Crutchfield to make sure the different HU's have a rear-cam input.

Any suggestion on where to purchase, how much, & where to get it installed? If you could give me a break down as far as if it's worth it all that. I appreciate it. Thanks!
Honestly it isn't too hard to install that stuff yourself. Headunit will be a sinch to put in, they also make cameras that bolt over the license plate so there won't be any drilling, just running the wiring through the trunk, through the seat, up the side underneath the carpeting to the HU.
Old Jun 18, 2012, 11:54 AM
b3n
Evolving Member

The GSR I just bought has an Alpine INA-W900 deck with a backup camera mounted over the license plate holes...though admittedly I haven't had a chance to play with it yet...looks clean though.