Notices
Evo X Engine Management / Tuning Forums Discuss the major engine management systems.

EcuFlash vs AP

Search this Thread

Old Sep 18, 2012, 10:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
EcuFlash vs AP

Hey guys, I'm relatively new to Evos having come from the Subie world. I've always had APs and gotten protunes through them. I'm looking to get my Evo tuned by FFTEC, but they only do EcuFlash, which I know nothing about.

Do I need to buy anything to get an ecuflash tune?
How do I revert to stock if I need to, using an ecuflash tune?
Are there any downsides going ecuflash vs AP?

Thanks for any info. I searched but couldn't find threads that covered this specifically.

Ryan
Old Sep 18, 2012, 11:40 AM
Evolved Member

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts
Both do the exact same thing, each with it's pros/cons. I won't really discuss the AP since you've owned them and how about them and how they work. If you get tuned on ECUFlash you'll have to go back to the tuner if you ever want to flash back to stock unless you download your own ECUFlash program for your laptop and purchase your own Tactrix 2.0 cable. Both are capable of logging your ECU, one is handheld, one is a laptop.
Old Sep 18, 2012, 11:45 AM

Got it. If I went to a tuner that used their own download/cable, I would have no option but to go back to them to go back to stock correct? Do tuners keep records of tunes if I needed to return to stock briefly (let's say smog ref or something) and then can revert back to the tuned map?

Sorry if these are dumb questions, but I appreciate the help.
Old Sep 18, 2012, 11:51 AM
Evolved Member

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts
If you got your own program and cable you could keep a copy of both your stock ROM and your tuned ROM on your laptop.

Regarding tuners keeping stock ROMs...some do, some don't. You should probably specify they do plus also ask for them to toss a copy on a flash drive for you to hold on to.
Old Sep 18, 2012, 11:58 AM