Notices
Evo X Engine Management / Tuning Forums Discuss the major engine management systems.

First set of mods

Search this Thread

Old Oct 9, 2013, 02:14 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
First set of mods

I am a newbie when it comes to this stuff but I will soon be getting a 2013 Evo X MR and am interested in modding but don't know where I should start. I want to start small and work my way up to larger mods.

My overall goal with the car is to achieve around 350whp and use it as my daily driver/have fun with it and just have a faster car than all my friends lol

I understand most mods will recommend if not require a tune, so what mods can I get away with without getting a tune right away? Some of the things I was looking at getting first was maybe a Cobb AP, ETS Intake and an upgraded exhaust + tune. Are these good first steps in the right direction? If not I would love to hear some experience opinions on what the first set of mods to a stock 2013 Evo X MR should be.

Thanks
Old Oct 10, 2013, 10:31 AM

First off, enjoy the car and get a feel for it.
I'm not heavily modded but this is the route I took and I'm pretty happy so far. If you want to get an cobb ap and use an ots tune make sure you get a intake that cobb supports. Such as an injen or cobb sf. I went with a hks panel filter first. Then got a catback. Both require no tune. Then after that a cobb ap and stage 1. Will be getting a test pipe real soon and run stage 2. No need for a downpipe on our cars till a bigger turbo comes in to play. Too high of a cost for too little of a gain.
Old Oct 10, 2013, 10:47 AM
Evolving Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
You can use the ETS intake without a tune. It uses the stock MAF housing so you dont really need a tune to run it.