Notices
Evo X Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine builds to the best clutch and flywheel.

Motor blew up :(

Search this Thread

Old Mar 18, 2009, 01:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Motor blew up :(

I'm fairly new to the EVO world. So I don't like to post alot. I've owned DSMs for the last 10 years. This year I decided to try my luck with the EVO X. I bought my car in May of 2008, I have 14.5k miles on my motor with an intake, upic, lic, fmic, mbc. tbe. I haven't gotten it tuned yet because I'm deploying in a few weeks, figured it would be a waste since I was going to do a turbo upgrade on meth when I return. (My car has only seen the track 3 times, other wise I baby my car because its my DD. Oil changes every 2500 miles)

So anyways I was driving my car Cali -> Wisconsin, doing about 70-75mph with CC set. When I got to Texas I heard a loud bang and the sound of metal getting shattering and bouncing around in my engine. I lost all oil pressure and smoke everywhere. Instantly I shut my car off. Called a tow truck, took my car to a Uhal center, threw my car on a truck/trailer and started driving agian. When I got home I decided to take a look to see what damage was done. So as I took the oil pan off this is what I found. I'll post more pictures when I break the engine down further.
Attached Thumbnails Motor blew up :(-img_0987.jpg   Motor blew up :(-img_0990.jpg   Motor blew up :(-img_0989.jpg   Motor blew up :(-img_0988.jpg  
Old Mar 18, 2009, 01:48 PM
Account Disabled

wow man good luck with everything this is the 1st evo x motor i seen blow up whats crazy to me is your mods are every mild good luck
Old Mar 18, 2009, 01:50 PM
Evolving Member

Dude that totally sucks, but isn't the car still under warranty. If so it was a bad move to take off the pan. Let us know how it goes. Look at the bright side. Now you can have a fully built motor when you get back from deployment. Take care of yourself Bro
Old Mar 18, 2009, 01:51 PM
Evolving Member