Notices
Evo X Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine builds to the best clutch and flywheel.

TurboXS downpipe initial impressions

Search this Thread

Old Dec 13, 2009 | 12:47 AM
Evolved Member

TurboXS downpipe initial impressions

Hello all,
I, and a friend of mine have been out installing the downpipe from my TBE. It's actually a Christmas present, but due to my friend being very busy around that time, we decided to install the downpipe since it seems to be the hardest part of the system. My impressions of the piping itself are.

Brand: TurboXS
Price paid: 689.00
Where purchased: Spun Autosports
Shipping: 2 days to my door

It seems to be very good quality feeling sturdy and like it will be a durable piece over the long haul. While i'm not a welding expert by any means, they seem to look very nicely done to me. The part fits just as it should... however when it comes to the install.. WHAT A B****!!! I don't think it is limited to just this system. I did not remove the o2 housing like many have because I didn't want to risk snapping the bolts off in the turbine housing. Removing the bolts to the downpipe weren't easy, but with some extensions and a universal with someone to up top to help guide the bolts it makes the job pretty easy. The problem is that the new pipe is so much bigger that the same set-up cannot be used... at least not on the passenger side bolt... it is VERY difficult to get turned in and I don't care if someone comes on here and tells me it's the cheapest downpipe and sucks or whatever I will NEVER do that job again lol.

I have had a custom tune with no mods, so i'll be flashing back to stock with the new downpipe and just keeping it like that until I can offically put the rest of the piping on, and then flash to stage 2.

Overall IMO, I got a great quality exhaust for 1/3rd of the cost that is going to make just as much, or close to as much power as the many outrageously priced systems.