Notices
Evo X Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine builds to the best clutch and flywheel.

Bolt On Power

Search this Thread

Old Jun 28, 2011, 07:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bolt On Power

Newbie here, trying to decide between a GSR and an MR. I've read all the pro/con threads on the SST, and for me it comes down to being a large guy with long/big legs and huge feet (6'2" 240lbs 13Wide Shoe) I'm not sure I can succesfully pull off a heel-and-toe downshift. So I'm trying to decide, but it's brought up a question I haven't really found answered here:

I know the SST is practically limited to about 350 lb-ft torque at the wheels, which I assume is completely attainable with bolt-ons and a tune, and no need to upgrade turbos, etc.

But what about the GSR? How far can you push a GSR with bolt-ons? I do not plan on opening the engine up to strengthen the bottom end, and probably wouldn't even go far enough to seriously consider cams, so if I'm not going to open up the engine, What kind of power/torque can you get on bolt-ons and a tune if you don't have to worry about the fragile SST?

Where I'm going is I'm trying to see how much power I'm leaving on the table if I go the MR route. If I know the GSR only has 50hp/50lb-ft more potential through bolt-ons then I won't feel too bad. But if I can get an extra 100hp without opening up the engine, just because I don't have to worry about preserving the SST, then I might have to consider the GSR more seriously.

Throwing out the Transmissions, where is the weak link in this drivetrain? Is the engine bottom end the weak link, or is it the transfer case, differentials, etc?

Any help is appreciated, and sorry for all the newbie questions!
Old Jun 28, 2011, 09:04 PM