Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

EvoX ECU and beyond..

Search this Thread

Old Feb 19, 2008, 03:11 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
EvoX ECU and beyond..

All:

I thought I'd put this into the EvoX general forums, but it could very well go into Future Evos.

I recently bought a book on Engine Management and I've been reading for the last couple of days on some of the technology that goes behind it. We've moved from OBDII ports to CAN bus ports and from 2D lookup tables to 3D maps (at least for some of the stand alone ECUs).

My background is in Computer Science and I was coming up with ideas on how if I were to work for one of these car manufacturers, how would I program an ECU. Here are a couple of thoughts:

1) Lookup tables are fast, but can cause inaccuracies due to resolution - not to mention they can be easily modified. Here at work, we use texture maps to give detail to a surface. In a lot of cases, we can represent this surface analytically without using memory for storing the maps and thus have infinite resolution. For example, consider a wood or marble texture. There is a function that exists such that we can create a texture strictly from mathematical inputs and evaluate our "texture" on-the-fly. In the case of an automotive ECU, I can see lookup tables being something of the past. Realtime procedural mapping should be right around the corner.

2) Smarter sensors. As our ECU gets faster (to the point that it is calculating timing and fuel several seconds ahead of the actual motor), our sensors need to be more than just sending a voltage or displaying a resistance. I can see each and every sensor getting some kind of silicon to talk to the ECU and adjust based on realtime conditions.