Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

evo x GSR for a stick shift noobie, bad idea?

Search this Thread

Old Mar 17, 2008, 06:43 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
evo x GSR for a stick shift noobie, bad idea?

are the 5 speed manuals on the GSRs easy to engage? i'm very new at driving manual tranny. will it be a bad idea to buy a GSR and getting used to it on a new car? thanks.
Old Mar 17, 2008, 07:23 AM
Evolving Member

I say go for it! I was driving an automatic integra and had probably an hr total behind the wheel of a few manual cars...and I do mean about an hr total of moving manual cars on a parking lot from point a to point b. So yea, when I drove my evo off the lot, I was pretty much still learning with it. That was about 3 months ago...and since then I've stalled, burned the clutch, and pretty much taught myself what to do and not to do once I have the money to get a performance clutch and flywheel.
Old Mar 17, 2008, 07:26 AM

BAD IDEA!!... ask one of ur friends to teach u first...then buy ur X... I'm sure replacing a clutch on one of there cars would be a lot cheaper
Old Mar 17, 2008, 07:27 AM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by stlgrym3
are the 5 speed manuals on the GSRs easy to engage? i'm very new at driving manual tranny. will it be a bad idea to buy a GSR and getting used to it on a new car? thanks.
i learned manual car 7 mo ago and i am driving X LOVING IT
Old Mar 17, 2008, 08:21 AM
Evolved Member

While the Evo is an expensive learning tool, I would say go for it. Maybe put in an order, and see if one of your friends or relatives would be willing to give you a quick lesson. Get the clutch grinding out of the way. There won't be too much of an issue if you "get used to manual" on an Evo, just explore other options as well.
Old Mar 17, 2008, 08:21 AM
Evolved Member