Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

The Horsepower Sine Wave

Search this Thread

Old Jun 27, 2008, 12:17 PM
EvoM Administrator

Received 135 Likes on 81 Posts
Lightbulb The Horsepower Sine Wave

I've been tweaking on cars for almost twenty years. I've been tuning them in some capacity for eight years. I've had a little experience with several kinds of racing: Drag racing, autocrossing, a track day, dyno racing (LOL), and sadly, bench racing.

One thing that I always notice is that there are people with wildly varying results and different interpretations as to why. When driver skill is the best it can be and his/her potential is maximized, its time to look closer at equipment.

At the start of the millennium, I started "tuning" with an Apex-i V-AFC (and I use that term really loosely, since they only controlled fueling), shortly after selling my 2G DSM and having a little experience with friends SAFCs. I drove a 2000 Honda Prelude at the time, and it is pathetically slow by today's standards. But I did basic breather bolt ons and tweaked the V-AFC on the dyno to see gain that was acceptably better than stock for an NA-4 that had few tools to make faster. It came to 176whp. I also drag raced the **** out of that car and learned how to cut the best 60 foot I could on street rubber with an open diff front wheel drive. Anyway, I pulled out a little ahead of my other Prelude friends and broke into the 14s. I finally got the car to 14.54@96.16mph with a 2.0 sixty foot and backed it up with a nearly identical run.

My friends and people on the Prelude Yahoogroup were all fighting to hit 14.99s, and I was a member of a well known Honda web board. Well, some guy in Jersey, who remains an online buddy to this day, ran a 14.6x@94.x in his 1999 Civic Si. He was making claims that his car was a Prelude destroyer, and page after page of useless chest beating over slow-as-***** cars ensued.