Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

Traction control noise when cold?

Search this Thread

Old Dec 31, 2013, 01:50 PM
Evolving Member

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Traction control noise when cold?

So I'm pretty new to the evo and haven't experienced all of the quirks that come with this car.

When its cold out and I take a corner to the point of the traction control coming on or the steering wheel turned all the way in either direction I hear this noise coming from the front drivers side near the wheel possibly.

It could be as simple as the tire scraping up against built up snow and ice but I have chipped most of that away from the drivers side and I still hear the noise.

The noise is hard to explain but its somewhat of a scraping/squeaking noise.

I know the regular traction control sound when it engages so it's not that.

Can anyone explain this? Is this a normal sound or do you all just think its the tire rubbing against ice and snow within the rear section of the wheel well?

I'm almost inclined to strap my go-pro down there to find out what this really is.

It's just starting to bother me as I'm thinking there could be some problem down there.

EDIT: I had the car all summer and autox'd it. I never heard this noise until the winter.
Old Dec 31, 2013, 03:30 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
The cold and snow can cause all kinds of rattles, vibrations, noises, etc. I wouldn't get too concerned about it. I'd just wait it out until the weather warms up and chances are it will clear itself up. Otherwise, get it into a heated garage overnight to thaw out any built up ice to see if that helps.
Old Jan 1, 2014, 07:21 AM
Evolving Member

Originally Posted by nolimits1320