Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

Winter/Performance Tires

Search this Thread

Old Oct 19, 2015, 01:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Winter/Performance Tires

Hello guys,

I am new to the the forums and wanted to hear from you guys what winter tires you guys would recommend and which brand is the best bang for the buck.

I have the stock Yoko Advan summer tires on but I heard that these are terrible in the winter. Also, wanted to know what was the main difference between winter performance tires and regular winter tires.

I've been looking at Bridgestone Blizzaks and Pirelli's Sottozeros in Tirerack but both of these are quite pricy, unless both may be worth the investment.
Old Oct 19, 2015, 01:33 PM
Evolved Member

Received 24 Likes on 24 Posts
If you get any kind of snow, do NOT drive on the stock tires.

Get a set of winters off of tire rack. Really, any winter tire you get will make a world of difference. The Yoko's are just dangerous in the snow.
Old Oct 19, 2015, 03:19 PM

Originally Posted by shekaar
If you get any kind of snow, do NOT drive on the stock tires.

Get a set of winters off of tire rack. Really, any winter tire you get will make a world of difference. The Yoko's are just dangerous in the snow.
Is the evo capable of handling some canadian snow with all seasons or does it need dedicated snow tires
Old Oct 19, 2015, 05:21 PM
Evolved Member

Received 113 Likes on 101 Posts
Some all seasons (with an "S" rating like the Continental DWS) are ok but snow tires are always better when it's really cold or when there's more than an inch of snow (or a few cm in your case).
Old Oct 19, 2015, 05:50 PM
Evolved Member

Yea, the advans will kill you in the winter. Any winter tire will work just fine.
Old Oct 19, 2015, 08:51 PM