Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

Want Help for tips on buying Evo X MR

Search this Thread

Old Feb 6, 2017, 09:41 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Want Help for tips on buying Evo X MR

I am new to the Evo Scene and new to the fourms
I am looking to buy a Evo X MR completely Stock in SoCal.
I am wondering if I can buy one for $25k
And what are the differences between the 08 Evo X MR and 10 Evo X MR
Also how can I tell if a car at a dealership has been modified or not

Thank you

Last edited by Tofuninja12; Feb 6, 2017 at 09:52 AM. Reason: More questions
Old Feb 6, 2017, 12:08 PM
Evolved Member

Received 91 Likes on 84 Posts
Depends on the year, but the newer the better. The MR is a great platform, I have one, but understand that the maintenance is higher than you might expect. If the car has 50k or so on it, expect to immediately change out your transmission fluid which is about a $600 job and should be done every 30k miles.

As for telling if it has been modified best is to post up pictures here so people can weigh in. Also be sure to read a lot of posts and research on this and other sites. Google searching can help you figure things out what to look for. Past that the final thing I'd do is have a third party car inspector take a look at the car in the lot. You can usually ask the dealership if they have any issue with a company coming to do that type of inspection. (most won't and will have a few they work with)

Final thing is they revised the timing chain in the 2011 on up. Might be worth saving a bit and trying to get a 2011 or newer so you avoid that issue. (older ones could stretch and roast your engine)

Good luck, it's a great car if you find a good one!
Old Feb 6, 2017, 12:18 PM

Originally Posted by Napalm_Enema