Notices
Evo X Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

Camber and toe write up

Search this Thread

Old Mar 1, 2009, 06:00 PM
EvoM Administrator

Received 39 Likes on 26 Posts
Camber and toe write up

Anyone interested in doing a write up for us auto-x'ers who want to get the most out of our stock setups during this year's track season? I'm a total newb when it comes to mechanics, which is why I spend so much time on this forum reading. I find I learn the most when I read good write-ups with pictures and explanations. I'm in Pocatello, ID, and am the only evo owner for miles, so asking another owner for help is out of the question. In fact, even the dealer in town is baffled whenever I bring my car in for service. Any help would be good, even if it's to point me in the right direction. I spent an hour searching videos and write-ups for a good explanation and came up empty.

I appreciate anyone who is willing to help me better understand this matter.

Thanks,

Jim
Old Mar 2, 2009, 03:28 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Im a also pretty clueless when it comes to suspension tuning. Would love to learn more...
Old Mar 2, 2009, 09:45 PM
EvoM Administrator

Bump
Old Mar 2, 2009, 10:20 PM
Evolved Member

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
I anticipate that this thread will be moved to the Motorsports section, but I'll give it a go.

Stock suspension for AutoX? It's good for learning, not not a good long term solution.

Here's what I recommend:
- flip the top bolt on your strut (the paint dot away from the strut body). This will get you near -2* camber.
- get an alignment, with as much camber as they can get up front (-2* to -2.5*) and -1 to -1.5 in the rear. 0 toe all around. Even in back. The tech might not like this.