Notices
Evo X Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

Braking issues- road course use

Search this Thread

Old Sep 24, 2010, 06:23 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Braking issues- road course use

I am curious to know if other forum users are having the same issues that I have been getting.
First off, I am not new to track brake pads, having 20+ years of experience selling and using on many types of cars.
I have extensive track experience so I do not think I am over braking the corners for the cars cornering ability.
Here is what happens.

Every long track I have lapped on this year creates braking issues in the form of pulsing brake pedal after anywhere between 2 laps and 2 sessions.
The problem is uneven brake pad tranfer layer to the discs. The cure is what I am looking for.
This problem is not an issue on short courses were I am constantly on the brakes.

I have tried OE rotors and then switched to DBA 4000 slotted, when I actually believed the discs were warped. ( They weren't after further inspection)
Everytime I have the pulsing brakes, I can lightly sand the discs and everything is fine. This tells me that it is indeed uneven transfer layer...

SO- I have tried all kinds of bedding procedures. Easy, long, hard braking, 24 cooling etc.
I have tried initially HAWK DTC70s and then 60s, then 30s all with the same results. Hawk techs said that I may have TOO much brakes and can't get the heat into them.... well my calipers are black since my last test day. They suggested BLUES of which I stopped selling several years ago- and these started to pulse on my OUT LAP at WGI.
I have tried Vortex pads ( new company supplying CASCAR) and their street pads do not pulse, but their short track Nascar compound does- after 2 sessions.