Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

Would u buy a modded evo

Search this Thread

Old Nov 6, 2004, 06:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Would u buy a modded evo

trying to buy used. drove a car that was modded and seemed quite quick. 15k miles and almost bald tires.. i'm new to the whole evo/sti crowd. the car felt quite solid. he has all the stock parts and such.

'03 with ecu flash, fuel pump, full exhaust no cat. intake. and that's all i can remember.

thanks,

bug
Old Nov 6, 2004, 06:46 PM
Evolving Member

i was gonna buy a used modded one b4 i bought mine. so my answer is yes.
Old Nov 6, 2004, 06:49 PM
Evolved Member

Make sure the tranny/transfercase is in good condition. Apperently these components can wear quickly, especially in an abused awd.
Old Nov 6, 2004, 06:53 PM
Account Disabled

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
people buy a modded one and they have problems with it after 5000 miles. I wouldn't buy anything with serious mod that's not from a tuner shop.

The tranny/transfer-case/clutch is importatant but it's hard to check. I would have money to replace the clutch or have the clutch ready to be installed before I would buy that.

And get the stock cat, since you have to pass emission.
Old Nov 6, 2004, 06:59 PM
EvoM Guru

Received 96 Likes on 83 Posts
That depends completely on how much you trust the seller. If you buy a modded car from someone that seems responsible, meticulous and knowledgeable, and who has a good reason for selling, then you are probably okay. The modded ones are the best bargains if you are intending to mod anyway.
Old Nov 6, 2004, 07:01 PM
JTB
Evolved Member

If warrantee is important to you, check the VIN with a dealership before buying.

The warrantee is also factored into the price of the car by Mitsubishi. If the warrantee is gone then the car is worth less -- regardless if you care or not.