Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

Buying bigger rims?

Search this Thread

Old Jul 2, 2006, 11:37 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Buying bigger rims?

Hey everyone, I'm a total newbie to this site and I need some . I want to put 18's on my evo and I want to know what I need to do for this. The steps I guess. I'm not talking about install though. I know I should get the wheel balanced or what ever and get them to put those little weights on the rim to make sure everything's equal but here where my question come in. I know if you get a lift on your truck and get bigger tire you need to do this. I hear you have to like adjust the ECU or something for the bigger wheels or it will effect your gas mileage and throw your speedometer off a little. Sense your are getting bigger wheels there's more mass and it adds rotational inertia. Can some one tell me if I need to do this or explain to me what I have to do or how its done. Basically, what do I need to do to put bigger rims on my car and have everything working properly.
Sorry for the long NOOB post
Thanks
Old Jul 2, 2006, 11:43 AM
Evolved Member

No you don't have to do any of that. Just buy em, buy tires that fit the rims, and put em on bro.

No adjusting needed. And no need to apologize for a question. We're here to help.

The size doesn't matter unless you go WAY over stock for spedometer purposes. Your gas mileage won't really be affected unless you put extremely heavy wheels. You still shouldn't really see a difference though.
Old Jul 2, 2006, 11:51 AM

ya I'm going with 18's (never would go higher on a compact car). There lighter then the stock wheels I think. So nothing to worry about as long as I'm not going with huge, heavy wheels?
BTW: Thanks for the help.
Old Jul 2, 2006, 11:52 AM
Evolved Member