Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

What exactly is an ECU flash?

Search this Thread

Old Sep 9, 2006, 02:01 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What exactly is an ECU flash?

So I hear this stuff all the time. I'm a pure EVO newbie. I made a deposit on one yesterday and am trying to absorb as much as possible.

What exactly does a "flash" do?
From my experience with other OBDII cars, the car has pre-set fuel maps and in closed loop, it make adjustments based on the AF reading from 02 sensors.

So how does the "flash" actually affect this? Is it telling the ECU to reach a different target AF ratio? Raising boost? More agressive timing?

And why would someone use a generic flash on their car? From my experience, every individual car can vary a whole lot even with the same parts. I must be missing something. I doubt everyone on here would be running generic maps.

And wtf is "stage 1" and "stage 2" stuff?
Why does anyone use that terminology? It doesn't tell you anything unless keep track of tuner marketing.
Old Sep 9, 2006, 02:05 PM
Evolved Member

Originally Posted by SophieSleeps
telling the ECU to reach a different target AF ratio? Raising boost? More agressive timing?
In a nutshell. The tuner is the one that is programing all these different parameters into the ECU. When you reach a certain power level you have to go a stand alone.
Old Sep 9, 2006, 02:28 PM

Originally Posted by SophieSleeps
So I hear this stuff all the time. I'm a pure EVO newbie. I made a deposit on one yesterday and am trying to absorb as much as possible.

What exactly does a "flash" do?
From my experience with other OBDII cars, the car has pre-set fuel maps and in closed loop, it make adjustments based on the AF reading from 02 sensors.