Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

what to look for when buying used evo

Search this Thread

Old Feb 28, 2007, 01:07 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
what to look for when buying used evo

Im a newb and i need some help. I'm going to a dealership (carsmith in fremont CA) this friday to check out an 05' evo VIII with 22,4xx miles on it. Please give me some advice on what to look for mechanically. Should I be looking at the clutch? Transmission? I know little bout cars ... so make it as easy for me as possible. Ie: What should I feel if the clutch is wearing?? I want to make sure I'm not going to buy a car that i need to do major work on within a few hundred miles.
Thanks for your help all!
Old Feb 28, 2007, 01:15 PM
Evolved Member

For starters, how much are they asking for the car? Model?

A lot of that stuff you can't check just with a visual inspection. You would need a mechanic (or yourself if you are knowledgeable) to do that. You can, however, check to see if it is still under warranty, which I think it should be based on the year and mileage.

This may seem stupid, but whenever I look at a car I keep it running during the entire look over and also after the test drive. This way you can at least listen for strange noises or smells, and also check for overheating issues.
Old Feb 28, 2007, 01:20 PM
Evolved Member

What is your budget? If I were you, I would give socal mitsu a call. They're having a sale right now they're letting Evo go for pretty cheap. The last time I saw it,
MR SE are going for $32,999
MR $31,999
IX SSL for $30,999
SE $29,599
IX $27,999
RS $25,999

Call this number and ask for Mike 714-545-1700.
Old Feb 28, 2007, 01:23 PM