Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

Newbie here... with newbie questions :)

Search this Thread

Old Oct 25, 2007, 04:19 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie here... with newbie questions :)

Hi all... I'm relatively new to posting on this board (I've been lurking here for a few months)...I recently purchased a 06 Evo IX MR so I imagine I'll be posting here a bit more.

I'm rapidly approaching 1000 miles on my new car. I was pretty cautious about following the "by the book" break-in procedure for the first 600 miles. Are there any things I should be cautious about after the break-in period?

What are some of the common things people do to their Evo's for performance? It seems like the MR is pretty good out of the box. I plan on upgrading to the WORKS air filter after it's time to replace my stock one (around 15k miles).

Does anybody use their Evo in the snow? I'm planning on bringing it to Tahoe this snowboarding season... Will the stock tires survive well in the snow? Should I purchase some additional rims/tires? If so, what kind?

I think that covers all of my random questions...
Old Oct 25, 2007, 04:20 PM
Evolved Member

the answer for the tires is on the door of the car.
Old Oct 25, 2007, 04:22 PM
Evolved Member

Blizzak tires are pretty good, the Yokohama's dont hold well in the snow

DONT mod your car unless you want to void your 50/100,000 mile warranty!!!!

DONT launch your car unless you want to replace the clutch sooner than later! (and the warranty wont cover that)

and DONT drive like an idiot please!!! Respect!
Old Oct 25, 2007, 04:22 PM
Evolved Member

GOD NO,

DOn't drive your evo in the snow with stock tires, unless you like doing body repairs.......

Buy a set of Blizzaks and you will be have a 3300 lb snowboard, it's fun as hell...
Old Oct 25, 2007, 04:23 PM
Evolved Member