Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

stalling in neutral / idle issues HELP!

Search this Thread

Old Dec 26, 2007, 09:26 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy stalling in neutral / idle issues HELP!

hey i have an 03 evo8 w/ 43k miles on it... i have this issue where when i go to a red light and put the car in neutral the rpms either drop down to < 500 then shoot back up or the car stalls out completely.... even when im rolling down the road and going from gear to gear, if it stays in neutral too long the car will stall... i have no idea wtf is wrong with it... the motor has a clicking noise not too sure wut it is thought possibly a valve tap but hey im no mechanic lol... also sounds like i need a new belt i hear some kind of squealing noise... the only other thing i thought could be the problem was maybe the BOV needed to be played with or since i was going to install a meth kit i had the nozzle drilled into the Upper IC but i have it capped off... possibly losing air? not sure like i said i only drive the car not fix it... anybody have any suggestions? ill list my mods done hope someone can help me!!!

03' white evolution 8 (43k miles)
K&N typhoon intake
Greddy BOV (recir)
TurboXS FMIC
Forge MBC @ 23psi
ACT stage III clutch
ACT Lightweight Flywheel
Tuned by Sean Ivey @ IveyTune

Last edited by white_evo27; Dec 28, 2007 at 04:27 PM.
Old Dec 27, 2007, 09:40 AM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Check for a vacuum leak.

Though after reading your mod list that intake is dreadful...
Old Dec 27, 2007, 09:45 AM
Evolved Member

Who or where did you buy the car from?
Did it have more mods on it before you bought it? If so then you could be running a tune for other mods which will mess with the idle.
Check for a vacuum leak and also dont put that meth kit in until the car is running right.