Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

Whining noise

Search this Thread

Old Apr 28, 2008, 09:20 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Whining noise

my car makes a whining sound when i accelerate and decelerate. While i accel. it gets louder. Im not sure what it is but im sure its not good.
Old Apr 28, 2008, 09:21 AM
Evolved Member

transfercase/clutch, most likely transfercase
Old Apr 28, 2008, 09:23 AM

well if its either of the two i hope its the T case haha
Old Apr 28, 2008, 09:25 AM
Evolved Member

transfer cases are expensive!!
Old Apr 28, 2008, 09:29 AM
Evolving Member

mine whines only in 1st gear when i downshift into it coming to a stop, or when i just start to accel from 1st... i was told its probably no big deal, and i have been driving like this for 3 years... no issues yet
Old Apr 28, 2008, 10:23 PM
Evolving Member

Evos are known for making accel and decel noise. Mine only has 2,500 miles on it and its been doing it ever since I bought it new 4 months ago. From what I've heard its normal and not really anything to worry about.
Old Apr 28, 2008, 10:31 PM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
soooo does it sound like this?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4xvs...eature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1t0juH8_Hew
Old Apr 28, 2008, 10:52 PM
Evolving Member

Originally Posted by RoadSpike
Mine sounds like the top link but only in first gear. Other than that its pretty quiet it only has 15k on it too. Does anyone elses sound like that in first?
Old Apr 28, 2008, 10:57 PM
Evolved Member

Originally Posted by Bora
Mine sounds like the top link but only in first gear. Other than that its pretty quiet it only has 15k on it too. Does anyone elses sound like that in first?
yeah mine does in 1st too thats normal at 50mph its not :P
Old Apr 28, 2008, 11:03 PM
Evolving Member

Yea thats what I figured...