Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

Modding for Dummies!!!

Search this Thread

Old Sep 13, 2003, 12:30 PM
Evolving Member

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Modding for Dummies!!!

I'm new to the world of high performance turbo-powered cars and am a bit naive to the science of modifying. You guys seem to know a ton of stuff and sometimes I am completely lost!!!

I was wondering if anyone can provide a basic, objective Modding 101 for the EVO. Perhaps listing some basic modifications, their purpose, their advantages (i.e. more power, etc.), their disadvantages (all - even the ones you couldn't care less about - i.e. reliability, emissions of certain types of pollutants, drivability, cost, etc.). Imagine you are teaching a University Class!!!! I realize there lots of possible permutations, so I guess sticking to some basic, common ones are a good place to start.

Thanks in advance!!!
Old Sep 13, 2003, 12:43 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
some good mods to start out with are simple things like a 3" turbo-back exhaust, an air/fuel controller, intake, and a manaul or electronic boost controller.
Old Sep 13, 2003, 01:29 PM

dont forget about that nice little luxurious clutch line that will save your clutches life in the long run because it will provide you with more direct feel.
Old Sep 13, 2003, 01:30 PM

Best thing you can do with your car (this goes for pretty much any car) ... is learn how to drive it. Instead of spending money right away for new aftermarket parts and gizmos, go for a weekend to your local track or pay 50$ for a saturday at an autocross. I can almost guarantee that youll be faster if its your first time. Besides, why mess up your warantee?
Old Sep 13, 2003, 01:33 PM
Evolving Member

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Originally posted by SharkyM3