Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

E85 vs race gas vs 93 octane

Search this Thread

Old Mar 18, 2009, 01:45 PM
Account Disabled

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E85 vs race gas vs 93 octane

i am new to this modding of cars and the more i am on evolutionm and learning from other people i seen a lot of things.one thing i do know is better the octaine the faster you go in my evo9 with small mods i ran a aem meth kit and would race people and they would ask me how i beat them with so little mods no one new i had the meth
but now i hear of race gas and what really confuses me which is E85 what are the difference and were can i buy them i was going to run 93 oct and 100% meth but is E85 better?? and from what i looked at race gas is expensive espcially for a DD
Old Mar 18, 2009, 01:54 PM
Evolving Member

Well, I don't agree with your statement about "the better the octane, the faster you'll go". The main purpose of running proper/higher octane fuel is a safety net when running higher than stock level boost. So in turn you're partly correct. If you're running c16 or some other level of race fuel, in turn you can safely run higher boost, to a degree. I haven't had any personal experience with e85 yet, but a lot of ppl that are on the boards are running it. B/c of the e85 you will have to run bigger injectors and sometimes run a dual walbro to keep up with the fuel flow, so in turn your gas milage will decrease. The nice thing with e85 there's a lot of local gas stations have them and it's quite cheaper then race fuel. There will be more ppl with a lot better info who will chime in and hopefully help you out.
Old Mar 18, 2009, 01:59 PM
Account Disabled

Originally Posted by Goldfinger978