Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

Newbie Modder needs help with shopping list

Search this Thread

Old Jul 10, 2009, 10:58 AM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Newbie Modder needs help with shopping list

Mods, if this is in the wrong area, please move to the appropriate forum section.

Hey guys, purchased the 06 evo about 2 weeks ago and am getting started with my initial mod shopping list.

I've read up on the newbie mod facts and it certainly is helpful in what to start modding. However my only problem is there are no brands suggested for some of the parts. I realize that it's subjective, but being a newbie, I'd like to get some ideas from seasoned modders on what seems to work and why.

Here is my list of initial upgrades I plan to do in the next month or 2. They will be done all at once.
  1. Megan TBE - pretty much decided on this based on recommendation from a tech in my area that works on everyone else's evo's in that area.
  2. CAI or Forced Air Intake system - Not sure on which route to go. Any mfg suggestions/preferences? Links to vendor with good prices?
  3. Manual Boost Controller/Gauges - going with this over electronic since I'm only going to be running the car in the summer and really don't want to deal with any potential hassles from an electronic system.
  4. Upper and Lower Intercooler pipes - Again, forgive my ignorance, but any particular brands better or that will fit the stock system better?
  5. Tune - will have someone do a tune once all the parts are in place. Suggestions based on the mods listed would be appreciated. I plan to still run 91-93 octane gas.
  6. Fuel pump - yes/no? It was suggested that if you are over 350 whp you should change it out. With the mods listed above with tune, should I worry about the Fuel pump at this time?