Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

lose power

Search this Thread

Old Oct 22, 2009, 04:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question lose power

i am a newbie when it comes to anything about car engines, i recently bought an 03 evo and i think i got played. the car was working fine when i got it in may, but for the last two months i have been having a problem. when i accelerate everything is fine up until about 5000 rpm's, at that point the car starts bogging, almost like a popping noise. any ideas about what it could be? please help
Old Oct 22, 2009, 04:54 PM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
The spark plugs might be fouled out... boost leak.. check both asap
Old Oct 22, 2009, 04:58 PM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
+1 on the plugs. It would cause a popping noise and cause a good bucking in the acceleration of the car. Pull the plugs, see what they look like and what they are gapped at. If they look pretty fed up then replace and gap them. What mods do you have? If youve increased the boost a good bit .022 or smaller.
Old Oct 22, 2009, 05:02 PM

i replaced the spark plugs about a month and a half ago and gapped them at .032 (thats what the mitsu dealership said to gap them at) i thought that might have been it but still continues. i dont have a boost guage and i dont kno how to manually turn it down so i dont kno what it is set at
Old Oct 22, 2009, 05:02 PM

not sure what mods are done
Old Oct 22, 2009, 05:05 PM

i also took wd40 and sprayed all my vacuum lines and didnt notice a bog or bubbles or anything
Old Oct 22, 2009, 05:07 PM
Evolved Member