Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

first build for the Evo

Search this Thread

Old Oct 26, 2010, 03:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
first build for the Evo

hey yall, i just wanna let you know that this is my first build for my evo. I got it brand new and its never been taken apart. I have already gotten the engine out and the head, transmission, intake manifold etc.. is coming off this weekend.I will post up pictures as soon as i transfer the photos to my pc. I'm going with the JE standard pistons and getting new bearings. Do i buy standard bearings if I leave the bore size, head, and rods all standard? My machinist told me that i need to send the block to him so he could measure the crank and rods for the bearing size that i need.. Im a little confused about this situation. So if you could help me out a little, i would appreciate it thx
Old Oct 26, 2010, 06:56 PM
Evolved Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Yes, if your gonna build it right you gotta get him to measure block, cylinder taper, bore- out of round, journal sizes, etc.
Old Oct 26, 2010, 07:10 PM

Bearings dont have any effect from bore size. Bearings are inbetween the rods to crank, crank to block, and I dont know if theres bearings on the cams to the head. Piston ring size will be different for a overbored cylinder. But if your doing a 'build' a machinist should def take a look.
Old Oct 26, 2010, 07:49 PM

r

Originally Posted by HFA_Ultima
Bearings dont have any effect from bore size. Bearings are inbetween the rods to crank, crank to block, and I dont know if theres bearings on the cams to the head. Piston ring size will be different for a overbored cylinder. But if your doing a 'build' a machinist should def take a look.