Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

HP Mods for road warriors

Search this Thread

Old Dec 7, 2003 | 01:03 PM
Evolving Member

HP Mods for road warriors

I'm a newbie who's searched for this subject but was unable to find it on this board. Hoping someone can point me in the right direction. I have 10K on my stock 03 Evo and want to do some HP mods that won't drastically effect my highway mileage (about 35K/yr) but still give me some nice HP gains. Money's not a huge issue for me so if it costs a little more I'm up for it. I'm assuming starting with the intake and exhaust is the first step, but again I'm on this. Also, anyone in MN know of a decent shop for help on complex installs?
Old Dec 7, 2003 | 01:17 PM
Evolved Member

Get some sort of a fuel controller to lean out the rich map on the car, will save you gas mileage. A catback is also a nice addition , I rely wouldnt worry about intake till you did the exhaust.
Old Dec 7, 2003 | 01:32 PM
Evolving Member

Thanks Quickshift. Any suggestions on brands/types? I see you have the Buschar Cat, you likes?
Old Dec 7, 2003 | 02:27 PM
Evolved Member

Originally posted by Quickshift
Get some sort of a fuel controller to lean out the rich map on the car, will save you gas mileage. A catback is also a nice addition , I rely wouldnt worry about intake till you did the exhaust.
https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/sh...ht=closed+loop

No no no no. Read ShapeGSX's post.
Old Dec 7, 2003 | 02:37 PM
EvoM Staff Alumni

That's right... only a reflash/standalone that addresses closed loop maps, will effect over all efficiency... Not plugging them at all (I just have personal experience), but the Works reflashes (P1 & P2) have shown time and time again to add power and reduce over all fuel consumption...

Of course your foot will be the final determining factor...
Old Dec 7, 2003 | 02:52 PM